A hunting we will go (Part 3)

Bridges of Indiana

Who would have thought Indiana would have so many bridges? After all, I saw my fair share in Vermont, and a few here and there in Pennsylvania. Armed with driving directions, fold out maps and well wishes from strangers at the visitor center, I felt like Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz. “Follow the Yellow Brick Road…” The music begins to swell in the background as the munchkins sing “Your off to find the bridges, the wonderful bridges of old.”

I was grateful of the large and brightly colored arrows that directed my path. Very early in the game I gave up trying to read the directions which required a two-man team. When I happened upon my first bridge, I will admit child like feelings came over me. I rushed from the car, camera in hand and then the photo bug came out. I questioned whether Monsieur had taken this path and found my answer at the Bridgeton. I spotted the white Audi driving through town and began to speed up to finally catch him until I caught sight of the Bridgeton Mill.

This is a family owned and operated facility (by two different families) for 180 years. The beautiful red bridge caused me to stop to take it all in. As water rushed from the right of the bridge and continued to flow downstream while the mill offset it made it picturesque. I felt as though I stepped back in time. It was a beauty. The hostess at the visitor center mentioned the locally made ice cream so I headed in that direction. I picked up the route and continued onward. I don’t know if the fun is in the search or the discovery. A sample of some of the covered bridges were McAllister, Neet, Iron Whipple and Mansfield to name a few. One thing for sure, finding one of these old beauties, whether you can drive through them or passing it on the side of the road as a reminder of days gone by, there is history in everything. Although I did get off course, running into the Red route on occasion and not catching up with Monsieur, I had a great time.

What are your thoughts?

