It’s my Birthday, Hey!

“If you do nothing unexpected, nothing unexpected happens.”- Fay Weldon

Birthday celebration

The Chipmunks

It’s not my official birthday yet but I’m celebrating the month of, anyway. This is an ongoing treat that I started many years ago. It started with gifts to myself and then major trips around the world. This month, as stated on my other website, Roadway News 2, this month is of gratitude and giving. Instead of taking, I’m giving of my time to different organizations.

Celebrate Good Times

A wonderful surprise happened last Wednesday when my friends, aka the Chipmunks, gave me a wonderful gift. I was told to arrive dressed in a Hawaiian print dress at five p.m. at the Hyatt Hotel in Lahaina. After we all gathered, my friends presented me with a Luau.

food

Get it while it’s hot!

The imu (earthen oven) had just been uncovered and presentation of the prepared pig, in the Hawaiian tradition, left the audience in awe. After the blessing of the food, we lined up to fill up. Mixed green salad, Poi, chicken, stir-fired vegetables, fruit, noodles and fish, to name a few, were part of the menu. Afterwards, various desserts and coffee rounded out the meal.

As the evening gave way to the night, a fashion show, then presentation of traditional hula and samples of neighboring island traditions in dance and dress allowed for relaxation. Once the show ended we or rather they became the models as I photographed each chipmunk in different areas around the hotel.

food, HawaiianMy birthday surprise ended with all of us toasting with drinks, mine, a glass of Riesling, and great conversation.

To my chipmunks, Mahalo and much, much Aloha to you all for making my (future) birthday a memorable one.

What are your thoughts?

