Tears of Love (part 2)

“A friend is someone who gives you total freedom to be yourself”-Jim Morrison

Christmas 2012

The Naughty Group

Whatever happens in life, one should look back and count more happiness than tears. Those are my words, my thoughts, my feelings. It was also achieved through the help of so many people that I don’t know where to begin.

To my Maui family, I dedicate part two to you. When I transferred to your unit in the fall of 2012, it was with concern on my part if I would fit in. I had spent three months with my first family and became very attached to them. Now I would have to move to a larger unit and with it the unknown. With a deep breath in and a slow one out, I moved forward and dared them to bring it on.

“Friends and good manners will carry you where money won’t go”-Margaret Walker

First Hike

First Hike

With professionalism and humor in hand, I stepped forward into the whirlwind of busy. Four pods, an increased patient load and more staff, I thought it was time to click my ruby-red slippers and tell Glenda the good witch to send me home. When I opened my eyes, I was still there so I decided to get down to business.

The magic started around Halloween when I try to encourage the gang to dress for the holiday. Not sure if it would fly, I took faith by the hand and found the best surprise when I walked through the door and noticed Sister Gloria decked out in her habit complete with bright yellow shoes! From there it was a done deal as different characters appeared throughout the unit and my camera flashed away. Laughter and smiles filled the air and my heart was happy.

Beauty queens

Beauty queens

We’re born alone, we live alone, we die alone. Only through our love and friendship can we create the illusion for the moment that we’re not alone”-Ritu Ghatourey quotes

From there a relationship grew. I joined a group that would hike once a month with “Papa Bear” Henry, in the lead. Five hikes and many stories later, I pulled up the rear (I really did, inhaler and all) and made it through. And the parties, my goodness the parties. Filipinos can lay out a food spread better than anyone I know. It’s a wonder I can still walk through a door. The dancing, the kindness and constant support of one another. Showing love became an event that I tried to outdo at each turn. With encouragement, I wore the hats that introduced each holiday as the staff, laughed, giggled and wondered, “What will she do next?”

You, all of you, made it possible for me to be who I am. You made me want to give love. All of you made me what I am today; a better person with a full heart. You gave me a better understanding of the cultures I came in contact with and a drive to want to do more, learn more, be more.

So it does not matter if you are a technician, a nurse, the manager or the floor sweeper, in my heart and in my life, you are important. Thank you for making my heart skip a beat, shout with joy, sing out loud and shake my fat butt. All of you helped me to Shine bright like a diamond. (go ahead, sing the song)

Mahalo and Aloha, from my heart to yours. Lila

P.S. The next holiday is Mothers Day, May 12!

What are your thoughts?

