From this Day Forward…

Love is the master key that opens the gates of happiness.”-Oliver Wendall Holmes

"Through joy and through tears"

This past Saturday, I witnessed a love everlasting. My aunt and uncle celebrated their fifty wedding anniversary. This golden moment confirmed the adage that love is still alive and well in the world.

I have never experienced the magical moment that leads to marriage. Never had the opportunity to tell a guy, “No thanks I’m not in love with you” or “Darling, I thought you’d never ask.” My ring finger has been bare since the day I was born. Never have I dealt with wedding gowns, invitations, relatives and wedding parties. Oh well, my heart still beats for others.

On that Saturday afternoon, I smiled at the influx of friends, family and relatives that gathered for the party to celebrate love at hand. I listened to the stories of how a marriage is work and not a fairytale. It slides down hills and climbs mountains as you continue to love one another. You have children, raise them, pray over them and let them go. And if you are really blessed, they have families of their own while bringing you the title of “grandparent” along the way.

I disappeared in the background, playing hostess as I admired those who gathered on this special day to honor two people so in love. So here’s a toast to Paul and Bernice. Thank you for showing us that marriage is still a wonderful thing. You have proven that “in sickness and in health” there is still “to death do us part.”

058

What are your thoughts?

