A Return to Childhood (Part 1)

“Pay no attention to that man behind the curtain.”-The Wizard of Oz

Cropped screenshot of Judy Garland from the tr...

Cropped screenshot of Judy Garland from the trailer for the film The Wizard of Oz. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ok, it’s Sunday afternoon and I have too many things I could and should do. Instead, I’ve decided to step back into my childhood and attend the IMAX 3D screening of the Wizard of Oz.

As a girl originally from Kansas, to be exact, Kansas City, Kansas, I have a certain fondness for this film. Maybe it’s the fact that like Dorothy, I’m always looking for my hearts desire.

There are turbulent times in our lives that come like the tornado in the movie; it sneaks up unexpectedly. We all need something to toss the complacency of life to the side and make us think, love and appreciate the blessings and beauty that keeps us going.

For me, I thrive on the thrill of adventure, travel, meeting people, new towns, cities and lands. Sometimes it’s fun other times not so much. The best part of it all are the lessons learned in the process.

The IMAX 3D version of The Wizard of Oz projects crisp, clearer colors, with sharper images. I smile at the opening scene as Dorothy clutches Toto while escaping Ms. Gulch. I’m mesmerized and taken in like a guest invited for dinner as I follow the two down the dirt road home.

During the storm, the tornado is more freighting and Dorothy’s screams piercing. I find myself grasping the theater chair armrests, and holding on as the debris flies. During the colorful side of the trip, the Scarecrow is colorful and his detailed facial features realistic. The flying monkeys are still creepy just on a larger scale.

One of my favorite parts of the movie, that most people miss, is during the encounter with the Cowardly Lion after Dorothy smacks his paw and he starts to whine. When Judy Garland tries to deliver her lines afterwards, she makes several attempts to  stifle a laugh as the lion  whimper and cries. Eventually she returns to her character and the story continues.

The film is still a delight with the themed message that holds true even today, “There’s no place like home.”

Cover of the Scarecrow of Oz

Cover of the Scarecrow of Oz (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What are your thoughts?

