In the Corner of the U.S. ( chpt.1) Apple Fritter Delight

“I cook with wine, sometimes I even add it to food”-W.C. Fields 

Voodoo Donuts-fritter

Voodoo Donuts-fritter

While living in the Pacific Northwest, I’ve developed a love for many things; the coastline, art, lots of trees and apple fritters.

It all started with Voodoo Donuts. Located at 22 SW 3rd Ave, Portland, OR. The business was started by Kenneth “Cat Daddy” Pogson and Tres Shannon. They are open twenty-four hours a day, except on Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and New Years Day.

Voodoo Doughnuts is a cash only shop but a ATM is available.

Donuts and fritters

Donuts and fritters

My fritter craving continued as I sought another shop, Legendary Donuts, 2602 6th Ave., Tacoma, WA. Legendary goes beyond the normal with custom creations like donuts made into a large hamburger and fries or doughnut towers. Donuts considered as Legendary are those with fancy toppings and fillings.

After awhile my main hangout became Dockside Donuts, 1112 Puyallup Ave. Tacoma, WA. Kay, the clerk that worked the drive-up window, became my new friend. At least twice a week, I would whip through the drive through, and without asking, she would begin sacking up my favorite surgery delight. Once in a while, she would treat me to a hot, out of the oven apple fritter. Joy, bliss and utter happiness would cover  my fingertips along with the sugar frosting. 

Kay-Dockside Donuts

Kay-Dockside Donuts

Kay is a sweetheart. With a ready smile, she always greets you with a “Good morning” or lovingly scolds you when you have been away too long. There is something special about being a ‘regular customer’ and having someone looking out for you. Giving great customer service is becoming a lost art in America. So when I find it, I try to embrace it by letting those that give it know how much I appreciate it.

Just like my apple fritters, they are both, hard to find.

What are your thoughts?

